ASSITIVE TECHNOLOGY/SEATING & WHEELCHAIR MOBILITY

The intent of this SIG is to raise the awareness of the impact of neurologic impairments in falls and fall prevention and improve our understanding of assessment and interventions for balance dysfunction and fall risk and prevention in neurologic disorders.

Chair

 

Nominating Committee

Barbara Crane, PT, PhD, ATP/SMS
Email: Barb.crane@cox.net
 
Tammie Johnson, PT, DPT, ATP, MS (Chair)
Email: tammielkjohnson@gmail.com

Vice Chair

 

Member

Laura Cohen, PT, PhD, ATP/SMS, RE
Email: laura@rehabtechconsultants.com
 
Allison Fracchia, PT
Email: allisonfracchia@att.net

Secretary

 

Member

Judy Freyermuth, PT
Email: judy.freyermuth@rehabcare.com
 
Jean Minkel, PT, ATP
Email: jminkel@aol.com

BALANCE AND FALLS

The intent of this SIG is to raise the awareness of the impact of neurologic impairments in falls and fall prevention and improve our understanding of assessment and interventions for balance dysfunction and fall risk and prevention in neurologic disorders.

Chair

 

Chair-Elect

Melissa S. Fong Doyle, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: msd.dpt@gmail.com
 
Julie Schwertfeger, PT, MBA
Email:Julie.schwertfeger@rosalindfranklin.edu

Vice Chair

 

Nominating Committee

Mike Studer, PT, MHS, NCS, CEEAA
Email:mike@northwestrehab.com
 
Evan Papa , PT, DPT, PhD (Chair)
Email: Evan.papa@unthsc.edu

Secretary

 

Members

Ann Reinthal, PT, PhD, NCS
Email: a.karas@csuohio.edu
 
Marcia Thompson, PT, DPT, DSc
Email: marciat@csufresno.edu
Tanvi Bhatt, PT, PhD
Email: Tbhatt6@uic.edu

Other Committee Members

Kylie Aufderheide, PT, DPT
Email: kraufder@gmail.com
Layne Martin, SPT
Email: laynemartin25@gmail.com

BRAIN INJURY

The purpose of this group is to provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in acquired brain injury. The SIG provides a forum for discussion of topics related to brain injury at physical therapy national meetings.

Chair

 

Chair-Elect

Mary Beth Osborne, PT, DPT
Email: mbao@nc.rr.com
 
 

Vice Chair

 

Nominating Committee

Jennifer Fernandez, PT, DPT, NCS, PCS
Email: jennifer.schinke@brooksrehab.org

 
Laura Gerhardt, PT, DPT, NCS (Chair)
Email: Laura.beninger@gmail.com

Secretary

 

Members

Carolyn Tassini, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: carolyntassini@gmail.com
 
Jodi Krause, PT, DPT
Email: krausejl@upmc.edu
 
 
Hannah Foster, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: Hannahefoster1@gmail.com

Newsletter Co-Editors

Kimberly Yon-Davis, PTA
Email: kyondavis@earthlink.net
 
Jillian Stark, PT, DPT, CBIS
Email: jillian.a.stark@gmail.com

DEGENERATIVE DISEASES

The SIG updates members regarding current research and treatment through the SIG newsletter and provide a forum for discussion of topics related to neurodegenerative diseases at APTA meetings. We aim to support and develop educational materials about degenerative diseases and provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in individuals with neurodegenerative diseases.

Chair

 

Chair-Elect

Tara McIsaac, PT, PhD
Email: tmcisaac@atsu.edu
 
Katy Hendron, PT, DPT (Chair)
Email: katyhendron@gmail.com

Vice Chair

 

Nominating Committee

David Russak, PT, DPT, CBIS, CSCS
Email:Drussak8@gmail.com
 
Alicia Flach , PT, DPT, NCS (Chair)
Email: flachad@slu.edu

Secretary

 

Members

Deb Kegelmeyer, PT, MS, DPT, GCS
Email: kegelmeyer.1@osu.edu
 

Sarah Cohen, PT, DPT
Email: scohenoza@gmail.com

Nora Fritz, PT, DPT
Email: nora.fritz@osumc.edu

SPINAL CORD INJURY

The purpose of this group is to provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in SCI. The SIG provides a forum for discussion of topics related to SCI at physical therapy national meetings.

Chair

 

Chair-Elect

Karen Hutchinson, PT, DPT, PhD
Email: kahutch@bu.edu
 
Rachel Tappan, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: rtappan@ric.org

Vice Chair

 

Nominating Committee

Meghan Joyce, PT, DPT
Email: meghan.e.joyce@gmail.com
 
Twala H. Maresh, PT, DPT, NCS, ATP (Chair)
Email: twalam@uca.edu

Secretary

 

Members

Casey R. Kandilakis, PT, DPT, NC
Email: Casey_Kandilakis@Shepherd.org
 
Cathy Larson, PT, PhD
Email: clarson@umflint.edu
Timothy Faw, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: Timothy.faw@gmail.com

STROKE

The SIG creates a forum for the discussion of rehabilitation issues associated with stroke survivors and form liaisons between APTA and the medical community through the support of research and through national organizations such as the National Stroke Association. Integrate into the community and provide information to the public about the risk factors of stroke and about living with the sequela of stroke.

Chair

 

Chair-Elect

Julia Castleberry, MS PT, DPT, CLT, GCS, NCS
Email: joxenreid@radford.edu

 
Heather Hayes, PT, DPT, NCS, PhD
Email: heather.hayes@hsc.utah.edu

Vice Chair

 

Nominating Committee

Jamie Haines , PT, DScPT, NCS
Email: jjduley@umflint.edu
 
Mark Stephens, PT, DPT, NCS (Chair)
Email:mdstephensPT@gmail.com

Secretary

 

Member

Maureen Whitford, PT, PhD, NCS
Email:mcwhitford2002@yahoo.com
 
Rachel Tran, PT, DPT, NCS
Email:rachel.tabak@gmail.com
Alexandra Borstad, PT, PhD, NCS
Email:Borstad.2@osu.edu
Other Committee Member
Maureen Karen Zacharewicz, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: karenzach@hotmail.com

VESTIBULAR REHABILITATION

The goal of the SIG is to facilitate exchange of information that would impact the treatment of the vestibular patient between researchers and clinicians. Act as a liaison between SIG members and organizations with interest in vestibular rehabilitation. Monitor and share information on reimbursement systems and the coverage policies for vestibular rehabilitation.

Chair

 

Chair-Elect

Anne Galgon, PT, PhD, NCS
Email:anne.galgon@temple.edu
 
Lisa Dransfield, PT, DPT, MA
Email:mld661@sbcglobal.net

Vice Chair

 

Nominating Committee

Lexi Miles, PT, MPT
Email:lexirmiles@gmail.comg

 
Kurt Van Der Schalie, PT, DPT, OCS (Chair)
Email:Kurt.vanderschalie@yahoo.com

Secretary

 

Member

Janene Holmberg, PT DPT, NCS
Email:janene.holmberg@imail.org
 

Becky Bliss, PT
Email:rebecca.bliss1012@gmail.com

 
 
Karen Skop, PT
Email:skpannullo@gmail.com

Practice Liaison

Col. Kim Gottshall, PT, PhD, ATC
Email: kim.gottshall@med.navy.mil
 
 
 
 

Newsletter Co-Editor

Elizabeth Grace, PT, MS, NCS
Email: elizabeth.grace@uphs.upenn.edu
Jeffrey Hoder, PT, DPT, NCS
Email: jhoder@vcu.edu

Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo