Visit the Synapse Education Center

Spinal Cord Injury SIG

The Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) Special Interest Group (SIG) is a focused component of the Academy of Neurologic Physical Therapy (ANPT). The SCI SIG provides education and resources for physical therapy clinicians, rehabilitation specialists, and patients/clients. Membership in the SCI SIG is open to any member of ANPT and the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA). The SCI SIG's regular activities include:

Professional Conferences -- We organize and present programming and focused sessions at the APTA's annual Combined Sections Meeting (CSM).  CSM provides an opportunity for members to discuss state-of-the-art advances in treatments, technology, and best practices for physical therapy clinicians.

Patient Advocacy -- We participate in advocacy at local and national levels through education and grassroots efforts. 

Website -- Our website keeps members informed of legislative and advocacy issues, new research and treatment ideas, and technology information.

Mission

The mission of the SCI SIG is to optimize rehabilitation and maximize participation of persons with spinal cord injuries and disorders (SCI/D) as active members of their communities. The SCI SIG members share knowledge and expertise, assemble and publicize resources, and discuss, interpret, and disseminate evidence about SCI/D rehabilitation.

Vision

The SCI SIG will serve as a preferred conduit for information, resources, and professional networking related to the rehabilitation of persons with spinal cord injury and/or disorders (SCI/D). The SCI SIG will also build domestic and international relationships to advance knowledge translation in the practice of SCI rehabilitation. 

 

Officers

CHAIR

Rachel Tappan, PT, DPT
E-Mail: rachel-tappan@northwestern.edu

VICE CHAIR

Meghan Joyce, PT, DPT, NCS
E-Mail:  MJoyce@craighospital.org

SECRETARY

Casey Kandilakis, PT, DPT, NCS
E-Mail:  casey_kandilakis@shepherd.org

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Timothy Faw, PT, DPT, NCS
E-Mail: timothy.faw@osumc.edu

Cathy Larson, PT, PhD
E-Mail: clarson@umflint.edu

Christi Hutchison, PT, MPT, NCS
E-Mail: chutchison@craighospital.org

 

Contact Us!  

Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo