Visit the Synapse Education Center

Special Interest Groups

Assistive Technology/Seating & Wheelchair Mobility

The intent of this SIG is to raise the awareness of the impact of neurologic impairments in falls and fall prevention and improve our understanding of assessment and interventions for balance dysfunction and fall risk and prevention in neurologic disorders. 

Chair

Barbara Crane, PT, PhD, ATP/SMS. Email: Barb.crane@cox.net 

Vice Chair

Laura Cohen, PT, PhD, ATP/SMS, RE. Email: laura@rehabtechconsultants.com 

Secretary

Deborah A. Jones, PT, DPT, GCS, CEEAA, ATP. Email:  Deborah.Jones@providence.org 

Nominating Committee 

Tammie Johnson, PT, DPT, ATP, MS (Chair). Email: tammielkjohnson@gmail.com 
Allison Fracchia, PT. Email: allisonfracchia@att.net 
Twala Maresh, PT, DPT, ATP. Email: twalam@uca.edu 

Balance and Falls 

The intent of this SIG is to raise the awareness of the impact of neurologic impairments in falls and fall prevention and improve our understanding of assessment and interventions for balance dysfunction and fall risk and prevention in neurologic disorders. 

Chair

Julie Schwertferger, PT, MBA. Email: Julie.schwertferger@rosalindfranklin.edu

Vice Chair

Debbie Espy, PT, PhD. Email: d.espy@csuohio.edu 

Secretary

Ann Reinthal, PT, PhD, NCS. Email: a.karas@csuohio.edu

Nominating Committee 

Evan Papa, PT, DPT, PhD (Chair). Email: Evan.papa@enthsc.edu
Tanvi Bhatt, PT, PhD. Email: Tbhatt6@uic.edu
Hina Garg, PhD, MS, PT. Email: hinagarg86@gmail.com

Other Committee Members 

Kylie Aufderheide, PT, DPT. Email: kraufder@gmail.com 
Layne Martin, SPT. Email: laynemartin25@gmail.com

Brain Injury

The purpose of this group is to provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in acquired brain injury. The SIG provides a forum for discussion of topics related to brain injury at physical therapy national meetings.

Chair

Mary Beth Osborne, PT, DPT. Email: mbao@nc.rr.com

Vice Chair

Jennifer Fernandez, PT, DPT, NCS, PCS. Email: jennifer.schinke@brooksrehab.org

Secretary

Allison Miller, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: aem32989@gmail.com

Nominating Committee

Laura Gerhardt, PT, DPT, NCS (Chair). Email: Laura.beninger@gmail.com
Dana Lott, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: Humbe2dl@gmail.com
Hannah Foster, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: Hannahefoster1@gmail.com

Newsletter Co-Editors

Kimberly Yon-Davis, PTA. Email: kyondavis@earthlink.net
Jillian Stark, PT, DPT, CBIS. Email: jillian.a.stark@gmail.com

Degenerative Diseases

The SIG updates members regarding current research and treatment through the SIG newsletter and provide a forum for discussion of topics related to neurodegenerative diseases at APTA meetings. We aim to support and develop educational materials about degenerative diseases and provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in individuals with neurodegenerative diseases. 

Chair

Katy Hendron, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: katyhendron@gmail.com

Vice Chair

David Russak, PT, DPT, CBIS, CSCS. Email: Drussak8@gmail.com

Secretary

Parminder (Parm) Padgett, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: parmpadgett@gmail.com

Nominating Committee

Alicia Falch, PT, DPT, NCS (Chair). Email: flachad@slu.edu
Rebecca Martin, PT, DPT. Email:  rmartin@clarkson.edu
Sara Crandall PT, DPT, NCS. Email: Crandall_sara@yahoo.com

Spinal Cord Injury

The purpose of this group is to provide an avenue of communication and networking for clinicians, educators, and researchers working with or interested in SCI. The SIG provides a forum for discussion of topics related to SCI at physical therapy national meetings.

Chair

Rachel Tappan, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: Rachel-tappan@northwestern.edu

Vice Chair

Meghan Joyce, PT, DPT. Email: mjoyce@craighospital.org

Secretary

Casey R. Kandilakis, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: Casey_Kandilakis@Shepherd.org

Nominating Committee

Cathy Larson, PT, PhD (Chair). Email: clarson@umflint.edu
Christi Hutchison, PT, NCS. Email: cmb4hm@yahoo.com
Sara Hobbs, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: shobbs@sralab.org

Stroke

The SIG creates a forum for the discussion of rehabilitation issues associated with stroke survivors and form liaisons between APTA and the medical community through the support of research and through national organizations such as the National Stroke Association. Integrate into the community and provide information to the public about the risk factors of stroke and about living with the sequela of stroke.

Chair

Heather Hayes, DPT, NCS, PhD. Email: Heather.hayes@hsc.utah.edu

Vice Chair

Jamie Haines , PT, DScPT, NCS. Email: Haine1jj@cmich.edu

Secretary

Maureen Whitford, PT, PhD, NCS. Email: mcwhitford2002@yahoo.com

Nominating Committee

Mark Stephens, PT, DPT, NCS (Chair). Email: mdstephensPT@gmail.com
Amelia Siles, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: Amelia.siles@osumc.edu
Rachel Prusynski PT, DPT, NCS. Email: raprusy@gmail.com

Additional Committee Member

Karen Zacharewicz, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: karenzach@hotmail.com

Vestibular Rehabilitation

The goal of the SIG is to facilitate exchange of information that would impact the treatment of the vestibular patient between researchers and clinicians. Act as a liaison between SIG members and organizations with interest in vestibular rehabilitation. Monitor and share information on reimbursement systems and the coverage policies for vestibular rehabilitation.

Chair

Anne Galgon, PT, PhD, NCS. Email: galgonanne56@gmail.com

Vice Chair

Lexi Miles, PT, MPT. Email: lexirmiles@gmail.com

Secretary

Chuck Plishka, PT, DPT, NCS. Email: chuckdpt@posturebalance.com

Nominating Committee

Kurt Van Der Schalie, PT, DPT, OCS (Chair). Email: Kurt.vanderschalie@yahoo.com
Linda D'Silva, PT, PhD. Email: Linda.dsilva@rockhurst.edu
Ryan Schrock, PT, DPT, CSCS, NCS. Email: schrockdoc@yahoo.com

Advisory and Practice Liaisons

Col. Kim Gottshall, PT, PhD, ATC. Email: kim.gottshall@med.navy.mil
Lisa Dransfield, PT, DPT, MA. Email: mld661@sbcglobal.net

Newsletter Co-Editors

Elizabeth Grace, PT, MS, NCS. Email: elizabeth.grace@uphs.upenn.edu
Deborah Struiksma, PT, NCS. Email: Debstruiksma@gmail.com

Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo
Client Logo